“To assure every Newark City Schools student the opportunity to pursue and complete education after high school.”


Governing Board

The Governing Board of A Call to College consists of passionate community leaders dedicated to helping assure all Newark City Schools students the opportunity to pursue higher education:

Diane S. DeLawder (Chair), A Call to College, retired 

Sarah Reese Wallace (Past Chair), First Federal Savings & Loan

David L. Lewis (Vice Chair), Newark City Schools  

Thomas M. Cummiskey (Vice Chair), Park National Bank 

Randall C. Anstine (Treasurer), Ernst & Young, LLC, retired

Megan Evans (Secretary), Newark Campus Development Fund, The Thomas J. Evans Foundation and The Gilbert Reese Family Foundation

Tom Ash, State Farm Insurance, retired

Judith A. Franklin, Park National Bank, retired

Chase Ghiloni, First Federal Savings

Prescott J. Koebel, Newark High School 

Cynthia M. Menzer, White Oak Partners, LLC

Faith M. Phillips, Ohio State Newark & COTC

Michael R. Sayre, Innovative Leadership Institute

Gary R. Walters, Clerk of Courts, Licking County, retired

William T. McConnell, Park National Corporation, emeritus

Robin E. Somers, Ohio State Newark, emeritus 

William W. Weidaw, Wilson, Shannon & Snow, emeritus 


Honor Roll


Since the organization's founding in 1991, William Weidaw, CPA, has donated over 4000 hours of in-kind accounting services 

Robin Somers was on the committee that drafted the original bylaws. At that time she was the Chair of the Newark High School Guidance Department

View text-based website